Care Certificate Standard 11

Safeguarding Children

Overview and Objectives of this course 

This course forms part of the Care Certificate, and meets the statutory and mandatory training requirements and learning outcomes for Safeguarding Children Level 1 in the UK Core Skills Training Framework (UK CSTF).

Learning Objectives

  • Describe the different forms of child maltreatment (physical, emotional, sexual abuse and neglect)
  • Describe how common child maltreatment is and the impact it can have on a child or young person
  • Indicate what you should do if you do have concerns about child maltreatment; including local policies and procedures, who to contact and where to obtain further advice and support
  • Identify the importance of sharing information and the consequences of failing to do so
  • Identify what to do if you feel that your concerns are not being taken seriously or you experience any other barriers when referring a child/family
  • Describe the risks associated with the internet and online social networking
  • Identify what the term 'looked-after child' means
  • Recognise possible signs of child maltreatment that you might come across in your work
  • Identify how to seek appropriate advice, report concerns and feel confident that you have been listened to
  • Indicate a willingness to listen to children and young people and to act on their issues and concerns
  • Show an awareness of the impact of female genital mutilation (FGM), domestic violence and a carer's mental/physical health on a child
  • Show an awareness that vulnerable children and young people may be susceptible to radicalisation (PREVENT programme)

About the full Care Certificate 

The Care Certificate is an induction programme for new starters within health and social care. 

The Care Certificate is a key component of the overall induction that employers must provide to their staff, legally and in order to meet the essential standards set out by the Care Quality Commission. 

The Care Certificate was developed jointly by Skills for Care, Health Education England and Skills for Health. 

The Care Certificate is an agreed set of standards that define the knowledge, skills and behaviours expected of specific job roles in the health and social care sectors. It's made up of the 15 minimum standards that should be covered if you are 'new to care' or changing jobs, and should form part of a robust induction programme. 

The Care Certificate is line with the latest UK legislation and meet the requirements set out by Skills for Care, the Care Quality Commission (CQC), Health and Safety Executive and other professional and regulatory bodies 

Care Certificate course contents 

The 15 Standards of the Care Certificate covered in this course are the following standards:

Who is the Care Certificate for? 

Everyone, including:

  • Healthcare Assistants
  • Social Care Support Workers
  • Nurses
  • Allied Healthcare Workers
  • Doctors 
  • Managers 
  • Supervisors 
  • Team Leaders 
  • Voluntary Staff working in all areas of care 
  • Anyone changing jobs within the care sector 
  • Anyone who has not studied for a while and needs an update

Requirements for the Care Certificate:

  • The Care Certificate is openly available to everyone
  • No prior learning knowledge or experience is required
  • Your time  
  • Your motivation 
  • Access to an internet-enabled device to login to the course. 

How this Care Certificate course is delivered 

This Care Certificate Standards 1 to 15 course is delivered in plain text reading materials made for easy access for low internet-bandwidth devices, and small screens such as mobile phones and tablets. 

This delivery style makes our Care Certificate course inclusive for busy people who may not necessarily have access to a broadband-connected desktop during their working day or night, and also for international students whose internet-connectivity may be of low bandwidth. 

No downloads required during the course. On completion a Digital Certificate is available to the student which they can take a screenshot of, instead of download.

This Care Certificate Standards 1 to 15 is available to everyone, in the UK or outside the UK. There are no geographical restrictions, and no eligibility criteria. 

The Care Certificate Standards 1 to Standard 15 is delivered online by Courses For Jobs Ltd in our secure password-protected LMS (Learning Management System). 

All the learner needs to undertake this course is a functioning email address so that their login details can be emailed to the learner. 

How the Care Certificate is assessed 

The online materials include quizzes and activities. 

Completion of the assessments provides evidence towards meeting the knowledge and competence requirements of each of the unit standards.

Career path after completion of the Care Certificate

After completion of the Care Certificate, successful learners will: 

  • Show proof of their updated knowledge and understanding 
  • Apply for jobs in care that require periodic continuing professional development (CPD)
  • Show evidence as part of their Continuing Professional Development (CPD) requirements, e.g. doctors, nurses and allied health professionals